LORIS Header
Go to Main Content



Awards Search Result


Transparent Image
Dr. David C. Vaughan Memorial Scholarships in Mathematics
Dr. David C. Vaughan was a vital member of the Laurier community and left a strong impression on his colleagues and students. He joined Laurier in 1988 after spending eight years as a lecturer at Okanagan College in Kelowna, BC.

A heavily involved faculty member over his 27 years at Laurier, Vaughan served as chair of the Mathematics department from 2000-06 and 2009-11, and as an associate dean in the Faculty of Science from 2008-09 and 2011-14. Well-respected as a researcher and teacher, Vaughan was passionate about strengthening math education at all academic levels. As a professor at Laurier, he taught a wide range of courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels, making a lasting impact on thousands of students over the course of his career.

To honour Dr. Vaughan's memory, the Department of Mathematics and the Faculty of Science has established this memorial scholarship in his name.

Eligible candidates are full-time undergraduate students entering Years 3, 4, or 5 of any honours program in Mathematics or Financial Mathematics (including double-degree and double-major programs) who have a minimum cumulative GPA of 9.0 (B+).

First preference for this scholarship will be a candidate who demonstrates service to the Department of Mathematics through work as an instructional or teaching assistant in mathematics, working for the Mathematics Assistance Centre, membership on the Mathematics or Science Councils, or active involvement in a mathematics club.

If there are no eligible candidates, second preference will be given to a student who meets the stated academic criteria and who volunteers within the Laurier or the local community in work involving active service to others in the area of academics (eg. as a tutor in the Writing Centre, as a volunteer in the area of literacy, as a tutor or volunteer at a community school, etc).

The successful recipient will combine academic achievement with a demonstrated commitment to the promotion of academic success within the Department of Mathematics, or in the wider Laurier or local communities.

The named recipient cannot, in the same academic year, concurrently receive the Wen-Hsuan Wang Scholarship or the Ken McDowell Mathematics Scholarship.

Endowed scholarship.
Transparent Image
Skip to top of page
Release: 8.0